History

It all began in a back room…

Employment as a chartering broker was the place of birth of an idea to create something big. A desk, a telephone  and the simple philosophy that “this is going to work!” were the  modest beginnings. More than 30 years passed by so far. The back room has become a  loft office in Hamburg and 33 employees strive to take care of a highly  productive fleet.  Round about 600 mariners cross the seas and oceans to transport  goods to all corners of the globe. The two managing directors and their partners with in-depth knowledge of their profession have one goal in mind: MC-Schiffahrt.

An owner-led company

Mad Dabelstein, born in 1964, worked as a chartering broker in the middle of the 80’s in a shipping company in Hamburg after he did his education as a shipping businessman. 1990 he became the manager of MC-Schiffahrt, later he became co-shareholder and in 1995 sole shareholder. Mad Dabelstein is the strategist of the company. He analyses, structures and communicates outward, which route MC-Schiffahrt takes. Someone who answers the questions and is well informed on board.

Company Management

A team of experts

We know that strategy and motivation are the keys to efficient results. We understand that open communication is the condition for excellent performance; for that it’s obvious, that the head of the project development is closely liaising with the technical department, if it’s necessary.  Willingness labels our team. The seamen on board got trained in regular cycles. The crews are highly qualified. We get over 2500 e-mails a day. At the end of the day all of them are replied. Whoever sends us a question gets a response. All employees identify with our company in any way. Everyone is an expert in his sector, but understands the business of his colleagues. A strong companionship arises from this high expertise.

Mad Dabelstein
CEO/Partner
  • Maritime and Shipping Company Manager since 1982
  • Company Managing Director since 1990  Partner
  • In third generation active in shipping
  • Strategic orientation
  • Consulting
Eckhard Stieper
CTO
  • Technical manager and mechanical engineer since 1985
  • In our Company since 2006
  • Technical and Nautical Fleet Manager
  • Fleet management of docking, repairs, supervision of new buildings, technical purchasing, ISM, ISPS, fleet management, insurance processing
Marcel Becker
CFO
  • Degree in business administration and tax consultant since 1995
  • In our Company since 2014
  • Head of Finance and Accounting
  • Comprehensive experience as a tax advisor
  • Specialized in KG-structure and tax law
  • Long-term experience as Head of Finance at a listed fund-raising-house with an affiliated shipping company

Historie

Es begann in einem Hinterzimmer...

Durch die Erfahrungen als angestellter Befrachter reifte der Gedanken etwas Eigenes auf die Beine zu stellen. Ein Schreibtisch, ein Telefon und die Überzeugung, »das wird gelingen«, waren das bescheidene Inventar eines Anfangs. Mehr als 30 Jahre sind seither vergangen. Aus dem Hinterzimmer ist ein Loftbüro in Hamburg geworden. 33 Mitarbeiter sind hier beschäftigt, um eine leistungsfähige Flotte einzusetzen. Rund 600 Mann fahren zur See und transportieren Waren in alle Länder dieser Welt. Der Inhaber und seine Partner haben ein Ziel: MC-Schiffahrt

Ein inhabergeführtes Unternehmen

Mad Dabelstein, Jahrgang 1964, arbeitete nach einer Ausbildung zum Schifffahrts- und Reedereikaufmann Mitte der 80er-Jahre als Befrachter in einer Hamburger Reederei. 1990 wurde er Geschäftsführer bei MarConsult Schiffahrt wo er später zunächst Mitgesellschafter, 1995 dann alleiniger Gesellschafter wurde. Mad Dabelstein ist der Stratege für das Unternehmen. Er analysiert, konzipiert und kommuniziert nach außen, welche Route MC- Schiffahrt einschlägt. Einer, der Rede und Antwort steht und an Bord Bescheid weiß.

Geschäftsleitung

Wir wissen, dass Strategie und Motivation zu effizienten Arbeitsergebnissen führen. Wir begreifen, dass offene Kommunikation die Voraussetzung ist für hervorragende Leistung; da ist es eben selbstverständlich, dass der Chef für Projektentwicklung bei der Technik sitzt, wenn es notwendig scheint. Bereitschaft zeichnet unser Team aus. Sämtliches Seepersonal wird im festgelegten Turnus geschult. Die Besatzungen der Flotte sind hochqualifiziert. Über 2500 E-Mails erhalten wir täglich. Am Ende des Tages kennzeichnet sie ein »Reply«. Wer bei uns anfragt, erhält eine Antwort. Alle Mitarbeiter identifizieren sich durch und durch mit dem Unternehmen. Jeder ist ein Fachmann in seinem Bereich und doch versteht er das Geschäft des Anderen. Aus der hohen Kompetenz der Einzelnen entsteht eine starke Gemeinschaft.

Mad Dabelstein
CEO/Partner
  • Schifffahrts- und Reedereikaufmann, seit 1982
  • Seit 1990 geschäftsführender  Gesellschafter
  • In dritter Generation in der Schifffahrt tätig
  • Strategische Ausrichtung
  • Consulting
Eckhard Stieper
CTO
  • Technischer Betriebswirt und Maschinenbaumeister, seit 1985
  • seit 2006 Im Unternehmen
  • Fleetmanager Technik / Nautik
  • Planung und Durchführung von Dockungen, Reparaturen, Bauaufsicht bei Neubauten, technischer Einkauf, ISM, ISPS, Bemannung der Flotte, Abwicklung von Versicherungsfällen
Marcel Becker
CFO
  • Diplom-Kaufmann und Steuerberater, seit 1995
  • seit 2014 Im Unternehmen
  • Leitung Finanz-und Rechnungswesen
  • Umfassende Praxis als Steuerberater
  • Spezialisiert auf internationales Steuerrecht und KG-Modelle
  • Langjährige Erfahrung als Leiter Finanzen eines börsenorientierten Emissionshauses mit angeschlossener Reederei